The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards

It’s been quite a year hasn’t it?

When the travel writing world was thrown Covid-19 shaped curve ball back in March we were determined that the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards would go ahead. We thought it would be just what we all needed. Little did we know that the situation would carry on until the end of 2020. We thought about taking a fallow year but it didn’t feel right so here is what we are doing…

We are going ahead with the 2021 Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards but they will look a little different. We have decided to scale back and focus on the following three awards:

  • Stanford Dolman Travel Writing Book of the Year in association with
    the Authors’ Club

  • Bradt New Travel Writer of the Year

  • The Edward Stanford ​Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing

There have been so many wonderful books published this year and we can’t wait to celebrate them. If we are able, the ceremony will this year again be a reception event and take place in central London (date TBC). If we are unable to have an event we will arrange something digital.

Submissions open
9th December 2020

Submissions close
18th January 2021

Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards ceremony - TBC


  • Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year, in association with the Authors' Club

  • Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing 

  • Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year

Key dates:


  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

© 2020 Edward Stanford Limited