Eligibility & criteria for 2020 submissions

Submissions are now closed

Please send 3 copies of each title submitted to:

c/o Agile Ideas, 

Studio 10
Glove Factory Studios
Brook Lane
BA14 6RL

Book publication dates:

Books first published 16th November 2018 – 15th November 2019

Book titles submitted should be available in print in the UK by November 15th 2019.

Submissions are not required through this website for the Bradt (Unpublished) New Writer or the Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing categories. Nor will levies apply in these categories.

All shortlisted and winning titles will feature heavily on POS distributed to all participating retailers and libraries across the country. POS includes posters, stickers, an awards magazine and bookmarks.

Once assessed the shortlists will be confidentially shared with successful publishers during w/c 11th November and revealed to the media on 10th December 2019. This is the first time the shortlists have been revealed before the year end. The objective is to aid sales of the selected titles before the all-important Christmas period. Stickers and sticker a/w can be provided to emphasise the extra endorsement.

The ceremony will this year again be a reception event and take place at the end of February (26th February TBC) in central London.

ALL winning authors will receive a handmade globe in commemoration of their achievement as well as, where highlighted, a prize.

Please note that all narrative-driven categories will incur a levy fee of £295 for each title shortlisted. In the other specific genre-based categories, the levy fee will be £195. This is to cover the costs of the project management of the campaign and the design, printing and distribution of the official point of sale which promotes the shortlisted books in bookshops and libraries throughout the UK. There is no charge for submissions.




Specific genre-based: (£195 levy)


Children’s Travel Book of the Year
Fiction or non-fiction title for pre-teens which inspires a love of travel, exploration and adventure.

Photography Travel Book of the Year
A book of photography relating to travel, adventure or world cultures aimed at the adult market and with their focus on either one place or the entire World, with limited accompanying text. The overall design and quality of publication of the book will also be considered by the judges.

Illustrated Travel Book of the Year

A book of illustrations, maps, or infographics relating to the travel genre. This award includes atlases.

The overall design and quality of production of the book will also be considered by the judges.

Food and Drink Travel Book of the Year

Cookbook or non-fiction food or drink writing focused on a particular national cuisine or telling of food related exploration/travel. Must capture a sense of the place’s identity and culture.

Narrative-Driven: (£295 levy)


Fiction, with a Sense of Place
A novel from any genre within fiction (populist or literary) with a highly developed and integral sense of a real location interwoven within the plot or narrative.
Debut Travel Writer of the Year

Presented to an author who has published a book classified as in the travel book genre during the last year for the very first time.


Adventure Travel Book of the Year
Presented to the author of a book of accessible non-fiction telling of either an individual’s personal adventure or recounting a historical life or expedition. Open to memoir, autobiography, biography and history titles relating to travel and exploration.


Travel Memoir of the Year 

The award, which is open to authors from all across the world, celebrates excellence in biographical, autobiographical or memoir -based travel writing. 


Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award, in association with the Authors' Club
The award, which is open to authors from all across the world, celebrates excellence in literary narrative travel writing. The winner of this prestigious award will also be presented with a financial prize.


The organising executive reserves the right to change or cancel one or more of the above categories based on the quantity and quality of the eventual submissions in each.


Additional awards presented (no submissions required):


Bradt New (unpublished) Writer of the Year


Edward Stanford Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

© 2019 Edward Stanford Limited