Eligibility & criteria for 2018 submissions

Book publication dates:

Books first published 1st November 2016 – 15th November 2017

Book titles submitted should be available in print in the UK.


Please note that categories marked with an asterisk will incur a levy fee of £165 for each title shortlisted. This is to cover the costs of the project management of the campaign and the design, printing and distribution of the official point of sale. There is no charge for submissions.


ALL winning authors will receive a handmade globe in commemoration of their achievement as well as, where highlighted, a prize.  All shortlisted and winning titles will feature heavily on POS distributed to all participating retailers and libraries across the country. POS includes posters, stickers, an awards magazine and bookmarks.

Please send 3 copies of each title submitted to:

c/o Agile Ideas, 

Magnolia House, 

172 Winsley Rd, 

Bradford on Avon, 


BA15 1NY

Submissions close 29th September



Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award, in partnership with the Authors' Club*:


The award, which is open to authors from all across the world, celebrates excellence in literary travel writing; please note that guidebooks are not eligible.

The winner of this prestigious award will also be presented with a cheque for £5,000.

Children's Travel Book of the Year*:

Fiction or non-fiction title for pre-teens which inspires a love of travel, exploration and adventure.


Photography & Illustrated Travel Book of the Year*:

A book of photography, illustrations, maps or infographics relating to travel, adventure or world cultures aimed at the adult market and with their focus on either one place or the entire World, with limited accompanying text. The overall design and quality of publication of the book will also be considered by the judges.


Travel Cookery Book of the Year*:

Cookbook or non-fiction food writing focussed on a particular national cuisine or telling of food related exploration/travel. Must capture a sense of the place's identity and culture.


Fiction, with a Sense of Place*:

A novel from any genre within fiction (populist or literary) ​with a highly developed and integral sense of a real location interwoven within the plot or narrative.


Outstanding General Travel Themed Book of the Year*:

An individual title of innovative and/or literary merit from the sub-genres of: Natural History, Biography, History, Geography and Transport titles, that is relevant, useful or inspiring to travellers (and not covered by the other categories).


Adventure Travel Book of the Year*:

Presented to the author of a book of accessible non-fiction telling of either an individual's personal adventure or recounting an historical life or expedition. Open to memoir, autobiography, biography and history titles relating to travel and exploration.

Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing:

This award recognises the contribution of one individual author to the travel-writing genre over time. This individual should still be current and relevant today. No submissions required - the award winner is selected by a panel of booksellers from bookshops across the country.


The following categories are for new and unpublished works of travel writing and have different criteria/eligibiity - for more information please click on the links below:

Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year

Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the Year

The owners reserve the right to not pursue a competition for any category where not enough books were submitted to select a shortlist from.