Judging of the 2019 awards

Shortlists are to be created from the submissions by a panel of booksellers and travel publishing buyers from the industry. The winners in each category will be selected by a variety of judging panels featuring travel writers and experts. 

In some categories a public vote will take place, votes will be combined with the judging panel votes.

The prestigious Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Prize is run in association with the Authors’ Club, this separate judging panel will be chaired by award-winning writer; Sara Wheeler.

The Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing is selected by a panel of booksellers from bookshops across the country.

The Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the Year will be administered by Lonely Planet - the Lonely Planet team will review all submissions and decide on the winner independently.

The Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year is administered by Bradt Travel Guides.