New categories added and new timing for Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards

• Awards move to coincide with Travel Writers Festival in February 2017 • Authors’ Club to announce 10th Anniversary “Best of Dolman Travel Book Prize”

promotion for summer 2016

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards are to move to a new schedule, which will see winners announced at a larger annual ceremony, with additional new travel writing categories, simultaneously with the Stanfords Travel Writers Festival during early February.

The new timings will also introduce a more straightforward eligibility period of one calendar year for the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award, run in association with the Authors’ Club.

“We were delighted with the reception for the first year of the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards from the trade and public alike,” said Tony Maher, Managing Director of Edward Stanford Limited. “These changes will not only ensure the judges can select from the most current publishing, but they also align the Awards with the Stanfords Travel Writers Festival to create a singular highlight of the year for travel writing fans.

“The move means an extended period of eligibility in this first year to maintain continuity for when the 2016 winners are announced at the beginning of next year - we don’t want to miss a gem!”

In the interim period, The Dolman Travel Book of the Year, relaunched last year as the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year, will celebrate its tenth anniversary in 2016 with a “Best of the Decade: ‘Dolman of Dolmans’ in association with Stanfords” selected from the prize’s previous winners and announced at a summer event at the National Liberal Club.

“We didn’t want to let the occasion of the Dolman Decennial go by without a celebration, particularly since the Authors’ Club itself turns 125 this year,” said Authors’ Club Chairperson Sunny Singh. “We do not envy our judges’ task as they attempt to crown a victor from such a distinguished list of winners. ”

Also announced today were five new prizes to be added to the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards roster for 2016: Young Travel Writer of the Year; Travel Blog of the Year; Adventure Travel Hero of the Year; Food & Travel Book of the Year and Illustrated Travel Book of the Year. Individual sponsors are being sought for each prize, news to follow later in the spring.

“We are pleased to be able to follow through on our promise to expand the ESTWA with the addition of these exciting new categories, which reflect the breadth of travel related publishing both printed and online,” Maher said. “Our determination to continue to fly the flag for travel writing has led us to retain the services of ‘Agile Ideas’. As experts in the field who have built and managed awards such as; The Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing and The Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, we are jointly confident of a bright future for the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards.”

Key dates:

  • July 2016 - Submissions open for all categories Summer 2016 - “10th Anniversary Best of Dolman Travel Book Prize” awarded

  • 1st November - Submissions close

  • 8th December - Shortlists announced End Jan/start

  • Feb 2017 - Winners announced alongside Stanfords Travel Writers Festival

Anyone interested in participating in or partnering with the awards from a commercial perspective, should contact; Alastair Giles;

Queries relating to the Authors’ Club should be made to: Chris Schuler;

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags