Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards to take place in February - Nominations now open to Publishers

Awards expanded and enhanced to coincide in February 2017 with Stanfords Travel Writers Festival at Destinations – the World’s largest Consumer Holiday & Travel show

The second Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards will take place on the evening of 2nd February 2017 in a hotel near Olympia.

The Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year in association with The Authors’ Club remains a highlight of this new collective ceremony as part of an expanded roster of new prizes in a unique celebration of the beauty, joy and power of travel publishing.

Booksellers and libraries across the UK and Ireland are invited to participate by helping to select the longlists in many of the categories and by mounting a month-long promotion of the shortlists, which represent the best travel writing of the past year, throughout January next year leading up to the ceremony.

The travel industry is a willing partner in this enterprise and it has been decided to host the ceremony close to the Olympia Exhibition Hall on the first night of Destinations, the World’s largest consumer holiday and travel show, so all the travel companies and exhibitors can attend and support the shortlisted authors whose work inspires a love of travel and exploration.

Wanderlust Magazine have been secured as media supporters for the awards, whilst Lonely Planet Pathfinders, National Book Tokens and the Destinations Show are sponsoring new prizes for travel bloggers and illustrated books respectively.

Agile Ideas have been recruited to project manage the whole awards ceremony and campaign leading to the awards.

The categories in this year’s awards include the following

  • National Book Tokens Children’s Travel Book of the Year

  • Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the Year

  • Destinations Show Illustrated Travel Book of the Year

  • Food & Travel Book of the Year

  • Fiction (with a Sense of Place)

  • Innovation in Travel Publishing

  • Wanderlust Adventure Travel Book of the Year

  • Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year

  • Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing

Publishers are advised to make their submissions at www.edwardstanford.com before the deadline of October 17th. The Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year is open for submissions until November 1st.

Shortlists are to be created from the submissions by a panel of booksellers and travel publishing buyers from across the industry. The winners in each category will be selected by a variety of judging panels featuring travel writers and experts to be announced shortly.

The prestigious Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year, as announced earlier this year has moved their judging period in order for the winner to be revealed at February’s ceremony. Administered by and run in association with the Authors’ Club, this separate judging panel will be chaired by award-winning writer; Sara Wheeler.

“We were delighted with the reception for the first year of the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards from the trade and public alike,” said Tony Maher, Managing Director of Edward Stanford Limited. “So to be able to build on this support to create an industry-wide celebration of travel writing at a key time of the year is very exciting. Our plan is to align the Awards with the Stanfords Travel Writers Festival to create a singular highlight of the year for travel writing fans.”

It is hoped that more individual companies may sponsor many of the new categories. Anyone interested in participating in or partnering with the awards from a commercial perspective should contact; Alastair Giles; Alastair@agile-ideas.com ASAP

All eligibility and criteria for inclusion are listed on the website: www.edwardstanford.com The details on how to submit direct for the Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the year award will be announced shortly.

Key dates:

22nd September 2016 - Submissions open for all categories

17th October - Submissions close

1st November - Submissions close for Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year, in association with the Authors' Club

10th January 2017 - Shortlists announced

2nd February - Winners announced alongside Stanfords Travel Writers Festival

All queries relating to the Authors’ Club should be made to: Chris Schuler; cjschuler@authorsclub.co.uk

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags