Luxury Tailor Made Holiday Specialists Hayes & Jarvis to Sponsor Edward Stanford Travel Writing

Celebrating excellence in travel writing across the world, The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards announces its association with luxury tailor made specialist Hayes & Jarvis, and the judges for its 2018 awards. The shortlist, selected by a team of judges including authors, journalists and retailers, will be announced on 10th January, opening select categories to a public vote.

Tony Maher, Managing Director of Stanfords, said: “We are absolutely delighted to welcome Hayes and Jarvis as a sponsor for the awards – I think that the match is perfect – a natural and logical partner for Stanfords. Hayes and Jarvis’ approach to bespoke holidays captures the spirit of the Stanfords’ customer perfectly.”

Lesley Rollo, Managing Director, Hayes & Jarvis said: “At Hayes & Jarvis we believe that one of the best ways to capture the memories and highlights of a trip is through writing. We are thrilled to be able to support and help promote the world’s leading travel writing awards, as well as acknowledge and celebrate excellence in travel writing. We hope the awards encourage more travellers to share their travel experiences through writing and inspire the travel writers of tomorrow.”

A collection of travel experts will be judging this year’s submissions including:

  • Sara Wheeler FRSC, travel writer and biographer

  • Phoebe Smith, Editor of Wanderlust and travel author

  • Nic Bottomly, co-founder and owner Bath independent Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights

  • Benedict Allen, writer, explorer and adventurer

  • Matthew Fort, food writer and critic and judge on the BBC’s Great British Menu

  • Jason Goodwin, historian and author

  • Amy Sohanpaul, Editor of Traveller magazine and author of travel guides and handbooks

  • Mary Novakovich, journalist and travel writer

  • Samantha Weinberg, Assistant Editor with The Economist

  • Victoria Mather, Travel Editor of Vanity Fair

  • Michael Kerr, Travel Writer for the Telegraph and Editor of Deskbound Traveller

  • Helena Drysdale, author

  • Bea Carvalho, Waterstones Travel Buyer

  • Paul Blezard, Literary Director of Firebird Poetry Prizes, and frequent Literary Event Chair

  • Sarah Oliver, freelance Senior Writer Daily Mail

  • David Mantero, Head of Buying, Stanfords

  • Jude Brosnan, Marketing Manager, Stanfords

Shortlists will be announced on 10th January at The Authors Club, National Liberal Club, 1 Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2HE.

The winners will be announced at a star-studded dinner on 1st February 2017 during the Stanfords Travel Writers Festival at Destinations: The Holiday and Travel Show at Olympia.

The winner of the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year (in partnership with The Authors’ Club) receives £5,000 and all winners receive an antique globe trophy, to be presented at the awards ceremony.

The full list of Awards is:

  • Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year, in partnership with The Authors' Club

  • Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing

  • Children's Travel Book of the Year

  • Illustrated & Photography Travel Book of the Year

  • Food & Travel Book of the Year

  • Fiction (with a Sense of Place)

  • Outstanding General Travel Themed Book of the Year

  • Adventure Travel Book of the Year

  • Bradt Travel Guides New Travel Writer of the Year

  • Lonely Planet Pathfinders Travel Blog of the Year

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags