2021 Submissions Now Closed


Eligibility & criteria for 2021 submissions


The Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year in Association with the Authors’ Club


Books must have been first published between 16th November 2019 - 16th November 2020


​Titles submitted should be available in print in the UK by November 16th 2020.


Deadline for entries: 18th January 2021


Date of shortlist announcement: 28th January 2021


Prize: £2500 and a handmade ESTWA globe trophy


We would like to encourage more independent, smaller publishers to submit so this year there will be no fees or levies for publishers to submit books to the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year award.


Only send in a copy of the title if it is not widely available (for example, if it’s self published) to:


ESTWA Submissions

Edward Stanford Group Limited

20 - 22 Shelton Street

London WC2H 9JJ



Bradt New Travel Writer of the Year


The competition is open to unpublished writers only


Entrants are invited to submit an original piece of writing of between 600 and 800 words on the destination they most want to return to when travel opens up again, and what it is about that place that draws them back. This could be a particular event that occurred there or person they met.


The piece must be a true story, based on the writer’s personal experience and written as a first-hand account, in the first person and in English.


Deadline for entries: 21 December 2020.


For entry details and terms & conditions: 




The Edward Stanford ​Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing


Stanfords awards this accolade to someone who has made a significant impact to the travel writing genre. Previous recipients of this award are Bill Bryson, Michael Palin, Jan Morris, Colin Thubron and Paul Theroux. No submissions required - the award winner is selected by an expert panel.



The ceremony will take place digitally for everyone to watch. Head to our homepage on 25th March at 6pm to watch the winners announcement video.