2022 Submissions


Book publication dates:

Books first published: 17th November 2020 - 30th November 2021.


​Titles submitted should be available in print in the UK by November 30th 2021.


Deadline for entries: 16th January 2022


Date of shortlist announcement: 1st February 2021

Only send in a copy of the title if it is not widely available (for example, if it’s self published) to:


ESTWA Submissions

Edward Stanford Group Limited

20 - 22 Shelton Street

London WC2H 9JJ


Please note that there will be a levy fee of £175 for each title shortlisted. This is to cover the costs of the project management of the campaign and the design, printing and distribution of the official point of sale which promote the shortlisted books in store. There is no charge for submissions.


All shortlisted and winning titles will feature heavily on POS including posters, stickers and bookmarks.


The Ceremony will be a reception event and will take place at the beginning of March in Central London - Ticket prices for authors and guests will be reduced to under £100 to be as inclusive as possible


ALL winning authors will receive a handmade globe in commemoration of their achievement as well as, where highlighted, a prize.  







Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award:


The award, which is open to authors from all across the world, celebrates excellence in literary travel writing; please note that guidebooks are not eligible. The winner of this prestigious award will also be presented with a financial Prize.


Children's Travel Book of the Year:

Fiction or non-fiction title for pre-teens which inspires a love of travel, exploration and adventure.


Photography Travel Book of the Year:

A book of photography relating to travel, adventure or world cultures with limited accompanying text. The overall design and quality of publication of the book will also be considered by the judges.


Illustrated Travel Book of the Year: 

A book of illustrations, maps or infographics relating to travel, adventure or world cultures aimed at the adult market and with their focus on either one place or the entire World. The overall design and quality of publication of the book will also be considered by the judges.


Food & Drink Travel Book of the Year:

Cookbook or non-fiction food writing focussed on a particular national cuisine or telling of food related exploration/travel. Must capture a sense of the place's identity and culture.


Fiction, with a Sense of Place:

A novel from any genre within fiction (populist or literary) with a highly developed and integral sense of a real location interwoven within the plot or narrative.


At the Winners Ceremony we will also announce the Bradt New Travel Writer of the Year and the recipient of the Edward Stanford Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing Award.